IB university requirements: which universities accept Maths AI HL?

The official IB Diploma maths requirements for 50 courses at 19 universities, read on each university's own page. For every course the table says whether Mathematics: Applications and Interpretation is accepted at Higher Level or whether Analysis and Approaches is required, with a link to the source and the date it was checked.

By Pietro Meloni, PhD ยท Last verified against the official pages on

The short answer

Maths AI HL is accepted more widely than most advice suggests. For engineering, 9 of the 14 universities checked accept it, including EPFL, ETH Zurich, Imperial College London and McGill University. Mathematics degrees are the strictest: King's College London, LSE, TU Delft, UCL, University of Cambridge, University of Edinburgh and University of Warwick ask for Analysis and Approaches HL.

The decision is made course by course. UCL accepts either maths course for engineering, economics and computer science, and only Analysis and Approaches for its Mathematics BSc. That is why this page lists courses and not universities.

Start from the degree

Three guides answer the question for the degrees families ask about most, with the full table for each.

By university

Engineering: IB maths requirements

IB Diploma requirements for engineering degrees. Universities with one rule for every programme appear in each table.
UniversityCourseIB pointsMaths requiredMaths AI HLSource
Imperial College LondonUKMechanical Engineering MEng2027 entry407 in HL Mathematics and 7 in HL Physics (typical offer); minimum 6 and 6HL Mathematics, grade 7 typical (6 minimum)Accepted, AA preferredimperial.ac.ukchecked
University of CambridgeUKEngineering BA (Hons) and MEng2027 entry41-42776 at Higher LevelHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesAA asked; ask the College if not offeredundergraduate.study.cam.ac.ukchecked
University of OxfordUKEngineering Science40 including core points776 at HL, with 7s in HL Mathematics and PhysicsHL Mathematics grade 7Acceptedox.ac.uk and maths policychecked
UCLUKMechanical Engineering MEng3919 points in three HL subjects, 7 and 6 in Mathematics and Physics in any orderHL Mathematics grade 6 or 7Accepteducl.ac.ukchecked
University of BristolUKBEng Mechanical Engineering2027 entry3818 at HL, 7 and 6 in Mathematics and one of Physics, Chemistry, Further Mathematics or Computer ScienceHL Mathematics grade 6 or 7Acceptedbristol.ac.ukchecked
EPFLSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)38 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics and one of HL Chemistry, Biology or Computer Science; grade 6 or more in Mathematics and PhysicsHL MathematicsAcceptedepfl.chchecked
University of WarwickUKBEng Mechanical Engineering366, 6 in Mathematics and Physics, at least one at HLMathematics grade 6, at HL or SLNot stated on the pagewarwick.ac.ukchecked
King's College LondonUKGeneral Engineering BEng36HL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 6Not acceptedkcl.ac.ukchecked
University of ManchesterUKMEng Mechanical Engineering2027 entry387, 7, 6 at HL including Mathematics and PhysicsHL MathematicsAcceptedmanchester.ac.ukchecked
ETH ZurichSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)Academic year 2025/2638 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics or Chemistry or Biology, HL language AHL Mathematics, either courseAcceptedethz.ch (PDF)checked
TU DelftNetherlandsBSc Aerospace Engineering (taught in English)Not statedMathematics AA HL and Physics HLHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptedtudelft.nlchecked
NTU SingaporeSingaporeAll programmes with a Mathematics prerequisiteNot statedMathematics where the programme requires it, either courseAcceptedntu.edu.sgchecked
NUSSingaporeEngineeringInformation accurate as of December 2025Not statedPass in HL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptednus.edu.sg (PDF)checked
McGill UniversityCanadaProgrammes with a mathematics prerequisite (central IB page)Not statedHL Analysis and Approaches, SL Analysis and Approaches or HL Applications and InterpretationAcceptedmcgill.cachecked

Physics: IB maths requirements

IB Diploma requirements for physics degrees. Universities with one rule for every programme appear in each table.
UniversityCourseIB pointsMaths requiredMaths AI HLSource
Imperial College LondonUKPhysics BSc407, 7, 6 including Mathematics and PhysicsHL Mathematics grade 7Accepted, AA preferredimperial.ac.ukchecked
University of CambridgeUKNatural Sciences (Physical) BA (Hons) and MSci41-42776 at Higher LevelHL Mathematics: applicants are expected to take Analysis and ApproachesAA asked; ask the College if not offeredundergraduate.study.cam.ac.ukchecked
University of BristolUKBSc Physics2027 entry3818 at HL, 7 and 6 in Mathematics and PhysicsHL Mathematics grade 6 or 7Acceptedbristol.ac.ukchecked
EPFLSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)38 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics and one of HL Chemistry, Biology or Computer Science; grade 6 or more in Mathematics and PhysicsHL MathematicsAcceptedepfl.chchecked
University of WarwickUKBSc Physics38HL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 6Not acceptedwarwick.ac.ukchecked
King's College LondonUKPhysics BSc36HL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 6Not acceptedkcl.ac.ukchecked
University of EdinburghUKMathematical Physics BSc (Hons)37 (range 32 to 37)666 at HLHL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 6Not acceptedstudy.ed.ac.ukchecked
ETH ZurichSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)Academic year 2025/2638 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics or Chemistry or Biology, HL language AHL Mathematics, either courseAcceptedethz.ch (PDF)checked
TU DelftNetherlandsBSc Applied Physics (taught in Dutch)Not statedDutch, Mathematics AA HL and Physics HLHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptedtudelft.nlchecked
NTU SingaporeSingaporeAll programmes with a Mathematics prerequisiteNot statedMathematics where the programme requires it, either courseAcceptedntu.edu.sgchecked
University of TorontoCanadaScience and business programmes (central admissions page)Not statedCalculus and Advanced Functions prerequisites: AI HL, AA SL or AA HLAcceptedfuture.utoronto.cachecked
McGill UniversityCanadaProgrammes with a mathematics prerequisite (central IB page)Not statedHL Analysis and Approaches, SL Analysis and Approaches or HL Applications and InterpretationAcceptedmcgill.cachecked

Mathematics: IB maths requirements

IB Diploma requirements for mathematics degrees. Universities with one rule for every programme appear in each table.
UniversityCourseIB pointsMaths requiredMaths AI HLSource
Imperial College LondonUKMathematics BSc397 in HL Mathematics, 6 in another HL subjectHL Mathematics grade 7Accepted, AA preferredimperial.ac.ukchecked
University of CambridgeUKMathematics BA (Hons) and MMath41-42776 at Higher LevelHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesAA asked; ask the College if not offeredundergraduate.study.cam.ac.ukchecked
University of OxfordUKMathematics39 including core points766 at HL, the 7 in HL MathematicsHL Mathematics grade 7Acceptedmaths.ox.ac.uk and maths policychecked
UCLUKMathematics BSc40 (or 39 with STEP or AEA)20 points in three HL subjects, 7 in MathematicsHL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 7Not accepteducl.ac.ukchecked
LSEUKBSc Mathematics and Economics39766 at HL with 7 in Mathematics: analysis and approachesHL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 7Not acceptedlse.ac.ukchecked
EPFLSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)38 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics and one of HL Chemistry, Biology or Computer Science; grade 6 or more in Mathematics and PhysicsHL MathematicsAcceptedepfl.chchecked
University of WarwickUKBSc Mathematics396 in three HL subjects including MathematicsHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptedwarwick.ac.ukchecked
King's College LondonUKMathematics BSc38HL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 7Not acceptedkcl.ac.ukchecked
University of EdinburghUKMathematics BSc (Hons)38 (range 34 to 38)766 at HLHL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 7Not acceptedstudy.ed.ac.ukchecked
ETH ZurichSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)Academic year 2025/2638 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics or Chemistry or Biology, HL language AHL Mathematics, either courseAcceptedethz.ch (PDF)checked
TU DelftNetherlandsBSc Applied Mathematics (taught in Dutch)Not statedDutch and Mathematics AA HLHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptedtudelft.nlchecked
NTU SingaporeSingaporeAll programmes with a Mathematics prerequisiteNot statedMathematics where the programme requires it, either courseAcceptedntu.edu.sgchecked
University of TorontoCanadaScience and business programmes (central admissions page)Not statedCalculus and Advanced Functions prerequisites: AI HL, AA SL or AA HLAcceptedfuture.utoronto.cachecked
McGill UniversityCanadaProgrammes with a mathematics prerequisite (central IB page)Not statedHL Analysis and Approaches, SL Analysis and Approaches or HL Applications and InterpretationAcceptedmcgill.cachecked

Computer Science: IB maths requirements

IB Diploma requirements for computer science degrees. Universities with one rule for every programme appear in each table.
UniversityCourseIB pointsMaths requiredMaths AI HLSource
Imperial College LondonUKComputing BEng417 in HL Mathematics, 7 in another relevant HL subjectHL Mathematics grade 7Acceptedimperial.ac.ukchecked
University of CambridgeUKComputer Science BA (Hons) and MEng41-42776 at Higher LevelHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesAA asked; ask the College if not offeredundergraduate.study.cam.ac.ukchecked
University of OxfordUKComputer Science39 including core points766 at HL, the 7 in HL MathematicsHL Mathematics grade 7Acceptedox.ac.uk and maths policychecked
UCLUKComputer Science BSc4020 points in three HL subjects, 7 in MathematicsHL Mathematics grade 7Accepted, AA preferreducl.ac.ukchecked
EPFLSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)38 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics and one of HL Chemistry, Biology or Computer Science; grade 6 or more in Mathematics and PhysicsHL MathematicsAcceptedepfl.chchecked
University of WarwickUKBSc Computer Science397, 6, 6 at HL with 7 in MathematicsHL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 7Not acceptedwarwick.ac.ukchecked
King's College LondonUKComputer Science BSc39HL Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches, grade 6Not acceptedkcl.ac.ukchecked
ETH ZurichSwitzerlandAll bachelor programmes (one rule for the whole school)Academic year 2025/2638 out of 42, without bonus pointsHL Mathematics, HL Physics or Chemistry or Biology, HL language AHL Mathematics, either courseAcceptedethz.ch (PDF)checked
TU DelftNetherlandsBSc Computer Science and Engineering (taught in English)Not statedMathematics AA HLHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptedtudelft.nlchecked
NTU SingaporeSingaporeAll programmes with a Mathematics prerequisiteNot statedMathematics where the programme requires it, either courseAcceptedntu.edu.sgchecked
NUSSingaporeCommon Computer Science ProgrammesInformation accurate as of December 2025Not statedPass in HL Computer Science, HL Analysis and Approaches or HL Physics; or a good pass in SL Analysis and Approaches or HL Applications and InterpretationAcceptednus.edu.sg (PDF)checked
University of TorontoCanadaScience and business programmes (central admissions page)Not statedCalculus and Advanced Functions prerequisites: AI HL, AA SL or AA HLAcceptedfuture.utoronto.cachecked
McGill UniversityCanadaProgrammes with a mathematics prerequisite (central IB page)Not statedHL Analysis and Approaches, SL Analysis and Approaches or HL Applications and InterpretationAcceptedmcgill.cachecked

Economics: IB maths requirements

IB Diploma requirements for economics degrees. Universities with one rule for every programme appear in each table.
UniversityCourseIB pointsMaths requiredMaths AI HLSource
Imperial College LondonUKEconomics, Finance and Data Science BSc397 in HL Mathematics, 6 and 6 in two other HL subjectsHL Mathematics grade 7Acceptedimperial.ac.ukchecked
University of CambridgeUKEconomics BA (Hons)41-42776 at Higher LevelHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesAA asked; ask the College if not offeredundergraduate.study.cam.ac.ukchecked
University of OxfordUKEconomics and Management39 including core points766 at HLHL Mathematics grade 6 or 7Acceptedox.ac.uk and maths policychecked
UCLUKEconomics BSc (Econ)3919 points in three HL subjects, 7 in MathematicsHL Mathematics grade 7Accepteducl.ac.ukchecked
LSEUKBSc Economics2027/28 entry39766 at HL with 7 in MathematicsHL Mathematics grade 7Accepted, AA preferredlse.ac.uk and maths policychecked
University of BristolUKBSc Economics2027 entry3818 at HLMathematics: 6 at HL (either course) or 7 at SL (Analysis and Approaches only)Acceptedbristol.ac.ukchecked
University of WarwickUKBSc Economics38HL Mathematics grade 6, either courseAcceptedwarwick.ac.ukchecked
King's College LondonUKEconomics BSc38HL Mathematics grade 6, either courseAcceptedkcl.ac.ukchecked
University of AmsterdamNetherlandsBSc Econometrics and Data ScienceNot statedMathematics HL or Analysis and Approaches HL, minimum 4 points (5 recommended)Not stateduva.nlchecked
Bocconi UniversityItalyAll bachelor programmesNot statedNo subject requirementAcceptedunibocconi.itchecked
NTU SingaporeSingaporeAll programmes with a Mathematics prerequisiteNot statedMathematics where the programme requires it, either courseAcceptedntu.edu.sgchecked
NUSSingaporeData Science and EconomicsInformation accurate as of December 2025Not statedVery good pass in HL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptednus.edu.sg (PDF)checked
University of TorontoCanadaScience and business programmes (central admissions page)Not statedCalculus and Advanced Functions prerequisites: AI HL, AA SL or AA HLAcceptedfuture.utoronto.cachecked
McGill UniversityCanadaProgrammes with a mathematics prerequisite (central IB page)Not statedHL Analysis and Approaches, SL Analysis and Approaches or HL Applications and InterpretationAcceptedmcgill.cachecked

Method

Every row was read on the universityโ€™s own website. No row comes from a forum, an agency, another tutoring site or memory.

For each course the exact sentence about IB mathematics was copied from the page, and a short fragment of it is stored with the row. A script re-reads every source and reports any row whose fragment is no longer on the page, so a change in wording is noticed. Requirements published as PDF are re-read by hand.

Oxford and UCL block automated requests, so their pages were read through Internet Archive copies (UCL: February 2026). Where a page does not state something, the cell says so. The entry cycle is given only where the page states it.

Not yet included because the published pages did not state an IB maths rule that could be read and checked: the University of Hong Kong and Politecnico di Milano, which admits through its own test.

Download the dataset

The full table is free to use under a CC BY 4.0 licence: CSV or JSON.

To cite it: Pietro Meloni, โ€œIB Diploma maths entry requirements by university and courseโ€, pietromeloni.com, verified 21 September 2026. Corrections are welcome at pietro@pietromeloni.com and are applied with the date of the change.

Frequently asked questions

Do top universities accept IB Maths AI HL?

+
Many do. Of the 14 universities checked for engineering, EPFL, ETH Zurich, Imperial College London, McGill University, NTU Singapore, UCL, University of Bristol, University of Manchester and University of Oxford accept Applications and Interpretation HL for engineering. Acceptance is decided course by course, so the same university can accept it for economics and refuse it for mathematics.

Which universities require IB Maths AA HL?

+
For mathematics degrees, King's College London, LSE, TU Delft, UCL, University of Cambridge, University of Edinburgh and University of Warwick ask for Analysis and Approaches HL. TU Delft accepts only Analysis and Approaches HL for every bachelor programme. Cambridge asks for it for every course checked, unless the school does not offer it.

Is IB Maths AI SL accepted anywhere for STEM degrees?

+
Rarely. Where a page mentions Standard Level at all it is almost always Analysis and Approaches. McGill states that Standard Level Applications and Interpretation is not acceptable as a maths prerequisite, and the University of Toronto says it satisfies only one of its two maths prerequisites.

How often is this list updated?

+
The list was last verified on 21 September 2026. Each source page is re-checked by a script, which flags any row whose wording has changed.

Can I use or cite this data?

+
Yes. The dataset is free to download as CSV or JSON under a CC BY 4.0 licence. Please credit Pietro Meloni and link to this page. Every row carries the link to the university page it came from, so anyone can check it.

Find out what is costing the marks.

Twenty minutes, one to one, online. No charge, no commitment.

Request an initial assessment