Which IB maths do you need for economics at university?

For most economics degrees either Higher Level maths course is accepted. 11 of the 14 universities checked accept Mathematics: Applications and Interpretation HL: Bocconi University, Imperial College London, King's College London, LSE, McGill University, NTU Singapore, UCL, University of Bristol, University of Oxford, University of Toronto and University of Warwick. NUS and University of Cambridge ask for Analysis and Approaches. The more mathematical the degree title, the more likely Analysis and Approaches becomes a condition.

By Pietro Meloni, PhD · Last verified against the official pages on

What each university says, with the source

Official IB Diploma requirements for economics degrees. "Maths AI HL" says whether Mathematics: Applications and Interpretation at Higher Level meets the maths requirement.
UniversityCourseIB pointsMaths requiredMaths AI HLSource
Imperial College LondonUKEconomics, Finance and Data Science BSc397 in HL Mathematics, 6 and 6 in two other HL subjectsHL Mathematics grade 7Acceptedimperial.ac.ukchecked
University of CambridgeUKEconomics BA (Hons)41-42776 at Higher LevelHL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesAA asked; ask the College if not offeredundergraduate.study.cam.ac.ukchecked
University of OxfordUKEconomics and Management39 including core points766 at HLHL Mathematics grade 6 or 7Acceptedox.ac.uk and maths policychecked
UCLUKEconomics BSc (Econ)3919 points in three HL subjects, 7 in MathematicsHL Mathematics grade 7Accepteducl.ac.ukchecked
LSEUKBSc Economics2027/28 entry39766 at HL with 7 in MathematicsHL Mathematics grade 7Accepted, AA preferredlse.ac.uk and maths policychecked
University of BristolUKBSc Economics2027 entry3818 at HLMathematics: 6 at HL (either course) or 7 at SL (Analysis and Approaches only)Acceptedbristol.ac.ukchecked
University of WarwickUKBSc Economics38HL Mathematics grade 6, either courseAcceptedwarwick.ac.ukchecked
King's College LondonUKEconomics BSc38HL Mathematics grade 6, either courseAcceptedkcl.ac.ukchecked
University of AmsterdamNetherlandsBSc Econometrics and Data ScienceNot statedMathematics HL or Analysis and Approaches HL, minimum 4 points (5 recommended)Not stateduva.nlchecked
Bocconi UniversityItalyAll bachelor programmesNot statedNo subject requirementAcceptedunibocconi.itchecked
NTU SingaporeSingaporeAll programmes with a Mathematics prerequisiteNot statedMathematics where the programme requires it, either courseAcceptedntu.edu.sgchecked
NUSSingaporeData Science and EconomicsInformation accurate as of December 2025Not statedVery good pass in HL Mathematics: Analysis and ApproachesNot acceptednus.edu.sg (PDF)checked
University of TorontoCanadaScience and business programmes (central admissions page)Not statedCalculus and Advanced Functions prerequisites: AI HL, AA SL or AA HLAcceptedfuture.utoronto.cachecked
McGill UniversityCanadaProgrammes with a mathematics prerequisite (central IB page)Not statedHL Analysis and Approaches, SL Analysis and Approaches or HL Applications and InterpretationAcceptedmcgill.cachecked

The line runs through the degree title, not the university

LSE publishes the clearest map. For BSc Economics it says Analysis and Approaches HL is preferred but both streams are considered. For Mathematics and Economics, Financial Mathematics and Statistics, Actuarial Science and Data Science it says Analysis and Approaches HL is required. For Politics and Economics, Philosophy and Economics or Management either stream is acceptable.

The same pattern holds elsewhere. Warwick accepts either course for BSc Economics and asks for Analysis and Approaches for BSc Mathematics. NUS asks for Analysis and Approaches HL for Data Science and Economics.

Higher Level matters more than which course

For selective economics degrees the binding condition is Higher Level maths with a 6 or a 7. LSE asks for a 7, UCL asks for a 7, Warwick and King's ask for a 6. A student with AI HL at 7 is eligible almost everywhere on this list. A student with AA SL is not eligible at LSE, UCL or Warwick, whatever the grade.

Bristol is an exception worth knowing: it accepts a 7 at Standard Level, but only in Analysis and Approaches. Bocconi sets no subject requirement at all.

What an economics degree will ask of the student

First-year economics uses differentiation, optimisation with constraints, some matrix algebra and a lot of statistics. AI HL prepares the statistics well. AA HL prepares the calculus well. Neither covers everything, and the gap from AI HL is smaller here than it is for engineering or physics.

Frequently asked questions

Does LSE accept IB Maths AI HL for Economics?

+
Yes. LSE lists BSc Economics among the programmes where Analysis and Approaches HL is preferred but both streams are considered. The offer is 39 points with 766 at Higher Level including a 7 in Mathematics, and the TMUA is required.

Does Cambridge accept Maths AI for Economics?

+
Cambridge asks for Analysis and Approaches for Economics. Applicants whose school does not offer it are told to contact their shortlisted College for advice.

Can I study economics with IB Maths SL?

+
Not at the most selective universities on this list, which ask for Higher Level maths. Bristol accepts a 7 in Standard Level Analysis and Approaches, and Bocconi sets no subject requirement.

Is Maths AI HL a disadvantage for economics?

+
Where the page says "preferred", as LSE does, it can matter between two similar applicants. Where the page says either course is accepted, as UCL, Warwick, King's and Imperial do, it is not a stated factor.

Find out what is costing the marks.

Twenty minutes, one to one, online. No charge, no commitment.

Request an initial assessment